4 Division One clubs banned from MTN/FA Cup


Four Division One clubs will not be allowed to take part in the knockout stage of the MTN FA CUP for two football seasons.

The GFA’s Disciplinary Committee has upheld the position of the GFA Prosecutor that the four clubs, who failed to honour their MTN FA Cup preliminary round matches, will not be allowed to enter into the knockout competition for the following two seasons (2020/21 and 2021/22).

The four clubs are Techiman City FC, Okyeman Planners FC, Berekum Arsenals FC and New Edubiase FC.

They have been fined GHS5,000 each, payable to the GFA within 14 days.

All four clubs have also been declared losers of their respective preliminary round matches.

The argument of the four clubs that they did not apply to play in the competition hence the Prosecutor should not punish them, was dismissed by the Disciplinary Committee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *